Inland waterways: a source of prosperity

Flanders has one of the densest and most coherent waterway networks in Europe. Waterwegen en Zeekanaal NV (W&Z) wishes to capitalise on this important asset in the best possible way. And we have a clear vision on how to go about this: we are working towards a dynamic management of our waterways, including the areas along it. W&Z stimulates the use of these waterways and this land, while taking into account the interests of all the stakeholders involved and paying additional attention to sustainable growth, flood protection and integrated water management. W&Z implements its vision by means of several activities.
W&Z considers its mission to be an important social project and implements a modern, innovative and future-oriented policy focusing on a prosperous, mobile, safe and green Flanders.

W&Z translates its mission in three related key tasks:
  1. Stimulation of water transport
    Inland waterway transport and short sea shipping are sources of prosperity. Moreover they provide a remedy against the adverse effects of the continuously increasing transport flows on our roads. That is why W&Z is making every effort to encourage inland waterway transport. It is relatively cheap, energy-efficient, punctual, safe and environmentallyfriendly: there are several advantages to waterway transport for businesses and for society as a whole. As the logistics hub of Europe, Flanders recognises the importance of inland waterway transport and waterbound logistics activities for our region’s future. W&Z plays an active role in this frame and therefore takes initiatives aimed at making inland waterway transport stronger, easier and more efficient.
  2. Water management
    W&Z strives to limit damage as a result of flooding. Together with our partners in Flanders and abroad we are working to achieve an economically and socially responsible safety level.
  3. Living on and along a waterway
    W&Z realises that our rivers and canals are so much more than useful infrastructure for environmentally-friendly transportation and the drainage of rainwater. They contribute to determining the face, the appeal and the viability of Flanders. That is why W&Z likes to boost life on and alongside waterways.

Company movie of Waterwegen en Zeekanaal NV


Waterwegen & Zeekanaal NV
Oostdijk 110
2830 Willebroek
tel. 0032 3 860 62 11
fax 0032 3 860 62 00

Navigation intérieure: une source de prospérité

La Flandre dispose de l’un des réseaux de voies navigables les plus denses et les plus harmonieux d’Europe, un atout majeur que la SA Waterwegen en Zeekanaal (Voies Navigables et Canal Maritime - W&Z) souhaite mettre pleinement à profit. Notre point de vue à ce sujet est claire: une gestion dynamique de nos voies navigables ainsi que des terrains qui les bordent. W&Z encourage l’utilisation de ces voies navigables et de ces terrains en prenant soin des intérêts de tous les acteurs et en accordant une attention toute particulière à la croissance durable, la protection contre les inondations et la gestion intégrale de l’eau.
 
W&Z concrétise cette vision en menant à bien de très nombreuses activités. W&Z considère que sa mission constitue un important projet de société et mène une politique moderne, innovante et axée sur l’avenir, avec pour enjeu une Flandre prospère, mobile, sûre et verte.

W&Z concrétise sa mission dans le cadre de trois tâches fondamentales interdépendantes
 
  1. Stimulation du transport fluvial
    La navigation intérieure et le «short sea shipping» sont des sources de prospérité. Ces deux activités constituent par ailleurs un remède contre les conséquences néfastes du flux croissant lié au transport routier. W&Z met par conséquent tout en oeuvre pour favoriser le transport par voies navigables. Relativement bon marché, peu énergivore, ponctuel, sûr et écologique: pour les entreprises et l’ensemble de la société, les atouts du transport fluvial sont légion. En tant que platforme logistique européenne, la Flandre a pleinement conscience de l’importance majeure de la navigation intérieure et des activités logistiques fluviales pour l’avenir de la région.W&Z joue un rôle actif en la matière et prend personnellement des initiatives afin de rendre le transport fluvial plus puissant, plus fluide et plus efficace.
     
  2. Régulation des eaux
    W&Z a pour objectif de limiter les dommages occasionnés par les crues. En collaboration avec nos partenaires, aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur de nos frontières, nous mettons tout en oeuvre pour assurer un niveau de sécurité économique et social raisonnable.
     
  3. La vie sur l’eau et sur les rives
    W&Z a conscience du fait que nos rivières et nos canaux représentent bien davantage qu’une simple infrastructure utile pour assurer le transport écologique et canaliser les eaux de pluie. Ils contribuent également à définir l’image, le pouvoir d’attraction et la viabilité de la Flandre et c’est pourquoi W&Z insuffle de nouvelles impulsions à la vie présente sur et le long des voies navigables.

Film d'entreprise de Waterwegen en Zeekanaal NV

Contact

Waterwegen & Zeekanaal NV
Oostdijk 110
2830 Willebroek
Belgique
tel. 0032 3 860 62 11
fax 0032 3 860 62 00
info@wenz.be